Public Building Architect of the Year

The 2014 Shortlist:

  • Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands
  • Ryder
  • Mecanoo
  • Purcell
  • Haworth Tompkins
  • Adam Richards Architects

This award was open to architects working on any project of public function, including theatres, galleries, libraries, visitor centres, civic and religious buildings. Among other things, the judges will be looking for evidence of all-round design excellence and fitness for purpose over a body of work. The size of the projects featured will not be a factor in their deliberations.


Public Building Architect of the Year 2013 Winner:

Public Building_ Duggan Morris Architects

Duggan Morris Architects

Duggan Morris’s recently completed scheme the ORTUS Home of Maudsley Learning is a new 1,550sqm public pavilion space housing learning and event facilities, café and exhibition spaces. The central focus of this exemplar project is to create a totally immersive learning environment generating a series of interconnecting spaces to encourage intuitive learning activities either in groups or individually and also to create possibilities for digital learning via social media.

The judges said: “Duggan Morris has made a major contribution to a sector that is not renowned for its commitment to architectural quality. Built outside the usual NHS procurement framework, Ortus communicates a generosity and permanence that truly warrants its description as a public building. Duggan Morris is quickly establishing itself as a practice capable of designing public buildings whose spatial and material character is of a rare quality.”

2013 Finalists

  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • erect architecture
  • Niall McLaughlin Architects
  • Pringle Richards Sharratt Architects
  • Wilkinson Eyre Architects