About the BD Architect of the Year Awards

Celebrating the best in architecture.

BD’s annual celebration of architecture is unique in recognising a body of work across different sectors, judged by a panel of industry experts.

Launched in 2004, the Architect of the Year Awards reward the UK practices responsible for the best overall body of work.

Organised by BD, the AYAs are distinguished from other architectural awards by virtue of honouring overall achievement within a particular sector. This provides a truly meaningful premise on which to compare the work of different architects.


The Awards Ceremony

The 16th edition is taking place on 1st May 2019 at the Westminster Park Plaza Hotel, London, SE1 7UT. You can take a look at the ticket packages and book your table here! 


How do I book tickets?

Tickets can be booked online on the ‘book a table’ tab


Why attend the Architect of the Year Awards?

Not only do the Architect of the Year Awards offer an evening of entertainment and fine dining, it also provides unique networking opportunities.

  • Network with new and existing clients, as well as your industry peers.
  • Inspire and motivate your staff – show how much you value members of your team and make them feel part of your company’s success.
  • Be inspired and celebrate the best of British and European architecture from the previous 12 months


Why enter the Architect of the Year Awards?

We welcome entries from practices of all sizes and specialties, our aim is to reward outstanding work. By winning an Architect of the Year Award you will be recognised by your industry peers as well as gain excellent exposure for your practice or project. Here are a few key reasons why you should enter:

Raise your profile..

  • Finalists are published on BD online, as well as other publications before and after the awards.
  • Show your work to high profile judges and over 700 guests at the prestigious awards ceremony.
  • Meet clients and peers at the awards to raise your profile.

Prove your excellence..

  • Our judging panel scrutinizes each entry to choose the winners, ensuring that only the best in each sector wins – prove this is you.
  • Reward your practice for their exceptional work.
  • Our categories are designed so that you can enter up to four projects and show off the work of various teams from your practice.
  • Impress clients and show them that your practice produces award winning work


Don’t take our word for it – here is what a few of our previous winners said..

“Winning the Housing Architect of the Year Award in 2011 & 2013 provided a tremendous boost to the Practice. It helped with OJEUs, frameworks and winning competitions in a very competitive sector. It is an award that UK public sector clients take very seriously”

Paul Karakusevic, Karakusevic Carson Architects

“The BD Architect of the Year Awards recognise the best in the industry and we are delighted to have been a winner last year for our work.”

Heinz Richardson, DirectorJestico and Whiles

“Winning the 2012 Public Realm Architect of the Year Award delighted our clients, brought us a sense of legitimacy and achievement, strengthened our hand in competition with much larger practices, and was a welcome recognition of the value of projects, in what must be one of the most democratic sectors of work.”

Graeme Sutherland, DirectorAdams & Sutherland

“We were honoured to be recognised by our piers for both the Hackney Marshes Centre and Eton Manor for the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. These two exceptional projects presented new typologies and new challenges for our studio. Receiving the award is recognition that architecture is not about repeating the well known building types in sectors that are known and tested by the studio, but about innovation through analysis and experimentation to create enjoyable and efficient sport and leisure environments.”

Stanton Williams

“The Architect of the Year Awards are the only architectural awards to recognise a body of work, providing a real measure of the quality of a practice. We were thrilled to be the first ever winners of the International Breakthrough Architect Award in 2012, which recognised our work in the Polar Regions. Winning the award has added real credibility to our practice and helped to confirm our position as one of the world’s leading designers of research facilities in both the Antarctic and the Arctic. The award also reassures both new and existing clients in other sectors in which we work, who recognise the significance of receiving an award judged by some of the most senior figures in the construction industry. Winning an Architect of the Year Award has helped us to win new projects and provided a fantastic platform for growth of our practice.”

Hugh Broughton, Hugh Broughton Architects